Nathanael Boehm living in New Zealand

My experiences moving to Christchurch, NZ

Going to New Zealand

with one comment

A few months ago my partner and I decided that we’d like to move to New Zealand. Since then planning has progressed nicely (well I think so anyway) and if everything goes to plan we’ll be moving to Christchurch in mid-February 2011. Failing that, we may end up in Wellington – it depends where I can find work.

I have an interview for a role in Christchurch tomorrow morning with another interview also for a role in Christchurch next week. The end of the year is always a bad time to try and line up work but so far nearly all the prospective employers I’ve spoken to have been open to at least having a chat to see if there are opportunities so I’m feeling optimistic. If you’re a design agency in CHCH looking to hire a UX designer please email me: nboehm@purecaffeine.com.

So in two months we should be packing our bags and the kitchen sink and heading off across the Tasman to NZ!

I will be sharing our stories and experiences of preparing, moving and settling into New Zealand here on this blog as well as photo journals of our getaways to various parts of the South Island and perhaps a few excursions to the North. Part of the reason behind choosing the South Island is that we’re both avid outdoors photographers – you can have a look at some of my shots on my main photo blog.

Thanks for reading – I hope you enjoy!

Written by Nathanael Coyne

7 December, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Posted in Living in NZ

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow good luck for everything, NZ is really beautiful, I went to Ashburton (just 1 hour drive from Christchurch) in August to celebrate my Nana (in law) 100th birthday. I would really love to go back there again for longer holiday! And oh I think NZ ice cream (any ice cream you buy in NZ shops) are nicer than Australian’s ice cream :D

    Ecky

    7 December, 2010 at 8:56 pm


Leave a Reply

