Nathanael Boehm living in New Zealand

My experiences moving to Christchurch, NZ

Getting ready to hike

with 2 comments

My partner Jenny’s parents gave me some gift money for Christmas so I went and got something that’s been on my shopping list for a long time: A proper GPS unit. I got the Garmin eTrex H – a basic non-mapping unit but that’s what I wanted, something simple that knows what it does and does it well.

So I’ve been spending this morning looking through the Koordinates geospatial map of DOC Public Conservation data and using the Google Maps Labs LatLng Marker tool to mark waypoints and get coordinates which I’m then programming into my eTrex using the GARtrip (I’ve since changed to EasyGPS and am currently evaluating and considering purchasing ExpertGPS) software via a USB cable I got from eBay for about the third of RRP. I’m also exporting the routes out of GARtrip to KML format which I’m then importing into Google Earth and saving screen captures of the route overlays for future reference and so Jenny can visualise the routes.

Here are a few of the routes I’ve plotted so far – all on public access land:

If you have Google Earth installed right click on a link above, copy location then paste the URL into the Google Earth > Open dialog box. It’ll then plot the route and zoom to the location. Hold down shift and your left mouse button to rotate around the route.

I’ve also joined the New Zealand Tramper forum which looks like a really good and active hiker community.

Written by Nathanael Coyne

28 December, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Posted in Living in NZ

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wish I didnt have McArdles!

    Allyeska

    28 December, 2010 at 4:01 pm

  2. […] past week playing around with NZ LINZ topographic maps, GeoTIFF calibration, TWF formats, KML and plotting out routes I’d like to tramp when I get to New Zealand. Even wrote a Greasemonkey script with the help […]


Leave a Reply

