Nathanael Boehm living in New Zealand

My experiences moving to Christchurch, NZ

Not long to go now

with 2 comments

In exactly one week at 9:25pm AEST next Saturday I’ll be touching down in Christchurch, my new home town. Still no accomodation lined up beyond the first two nights in a hotel – everyone’s closed over Christmas and New Years so it’s been tough trying to contact real estate agents. We do have high hopes of being approved for an apartment in Merivale.

We had no luck contacting friends and colleagues over there to help with the inspection (fair enough too, everyone’s enjoying the holidays) so I found a local personal assistant from OrganiseIt who has been magnificent. They did the inspection for us, provided a comprehensive report and photos and have assisted with liaising with the real estate agency.

Farewell drinks for friends are next Friday, 7 January, at P.J O’Reilly’s in Civic. Let me know if you want to come.

Speaking of holidays: I ordered a bunch of first aid supplies from Parasol EMT in Fyshwick to take – especially as we plan on doing a fair bit of tramping in NZ and I’d kinda run out of things to think of organising before I leave – and thought it would be easier to get from a place I knew rather than trying to source locally, but after placing my order and paying for it I get an autoresponder email from them advising their office doesn’t reopen till 10 January. Slackers!

This summer heat is making it hard to work too. Can’t use the computer during the day and feel lethargic. Don’t have much to do now – just finish packing these boxes, ship them off and make last minute arrangements. It just comes down to timing. Can’t finish packing until just before I go … so I have this whole week to prepare but can’t really do much until the end of the week.

Don’t have to drag my desktop PC and monitor over there now. Bought a Compaq Presario CQ62 laptop from JB Hi Fi during the end of year sales for a bargain $446 and after a minor hiccup tipping the place upside down looking for my Adobe Photoshop 6.0 CD it’s all set up now so I can do my photo processing.

Now, where’s my other Manfrotto tripod head …

Written by Nathanael Coyne

1 January, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Posted in Living in NZ

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve got some things to help keep u busy… get a quote for courier to post Beefy to travel insurance, quote also for my seamless backdrop paper rolls. :) Possibly also buy me/us another tripod head (or two, in case we lose one over there too).

    Gotta love me!
    :)

    Allyeska

    1 January, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    • No thanks, I’m thinking I might have some spare time to actually have a holiday during my time off. Novel concept! You take care of your own stuff :) kthx

      Nathanael Boehm

      1 January, 2011 at 11:32 pm


Leave a Reply

