Nathanael Boehm living in New Zealand

My experiences moving to Christchurch, NZ

First day in Christchurch

leave a comment »

It’s been a long first day in Christchurch trapsing around the city. I got in at midnight last night after a smooth flight out of Sydney following a not so smooth leg from Canberra.

Could have done with a longer sleep in this morning but I start my first day at work tomorrow so I have to try and adjust to the 2-hour time difference as quickly as possible. I’ve probably walked at least 7km today, acquianting myself with Christchurch walking around the CBD and across Hagley Park to Riccarton Mall for lunch and some shopping.

Getting a pre-paid SIM for my iPad was a bit tricky but finally got it sorted in the end so now have the all-important Internet access so I can use Google Maps on my iPad to navigate around. Going to need it tomorrow morning to find my workplace!

Up here on the 25th level of Hotel Grand Chancellor I have great view of the Banks Peninsula to the south. Nearly 9:30pm here and the sun has almost set.

I love the wide open spaces here with Cathedral Square, the Avon River weaving through the city, Latimer Square and of course Hagley Park. The cityscape has a low profile too as you can see from the photos. There are no towering skyscrapers casting dark shadows for miles. It has character like Fremantle or Hobart but with the convenience of a larger city. I like it here. I know some of you probably think I’m crazy that I chose to live here having never visited Christchurch or even New Zealand.

I’ll upload more photos of the city on my photo blog.

I have to go now and write some postcards and then get to bed for an early night – I stayed up too late last night watching Harsh Times.

Written by Nathanael Coyne

9 January, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Posted in Living in NZ

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

